Intercession

There are several words in Hebrew and Aramaic that are often translated into the word prayer. We all know that Praise and Worship can be a form of prayer, as well as simple requests. One of the most common Hebrew words translated into pray is palal.

If you look at the etymology of the word palal you find out that the root of palal is pal which means “fall”. Another word that comes from pal is naphal also meaning “fall”. The deeper meaning of the word palal is to “fall down to the ground in the presence of one in authority pleading a cause”. 

Palal is so much more than making a simple request to the Lord. When Hannah went before the Lord it says she was distressed and wept bitterly, then she prayed (palal) and it says Hannah was speaking in her heart, only her lips moved. Hannah may not have fell down on the ground literally, but that is where it was coming from in her heart.

Using the Law of Firstsפָלַל Palal is first mentioned in scripture when King Abimelech took Sarah and in a dream is told to return her.

Now return the man’s wife, for he is a prophet; he will Pray (פָלַל Palal) for you and you will live. But if you do not restore her, be aware that you will SurelyDie (מוּת-מוּת Mut-Mut) — you and all who belong to you.” Genesis 20:7

Then Abraham Prayed (פָלַל Palal) to God, and God Healed (רָפָא Rahpa) Abimelech and his wife and his maidservants, so that they could again bear children, for on account of Abraham’s wife Sarah, יְהוָֹה YHVH had completely closed all the wombs in Abimelech’s household, Genesis 20:17, 18

Job was also instructed to Pray for his friends and after praying for them the Lord restored double to him.

Then My servant Job will Pray (פָלַל Palal) for you, for I will accept his Prayer (פָלַל Palal) and not deal with you according to your folly. For you have not spoken accurately about Me, as My servant Job has…” Job 42:8

There is another side to palal that is equally important… Another definition of palal is to make judgment. In Hebrew the verb lehitpallel (“to pray”) also means “to judge oneself” because prayer is also a time of self-judgment and self-evaluation as you come before the Lord.

1 While Ezra prayed and made confession, weeping and casting himself down before the house of God, a very great assembly of men, women, and children, gathered to him out of Israel, for the people wept bitterly. Ezra 10:1

I always think of David and how he would say search me….

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! 24 And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting! Psalms 139:23-24

2 Prove me, O LORD, and try me; test my heart and my mind. Psalms 26:2

3 You have tried my heart, you have visited me by night, you have tested me, and you will find nothing; I have purposed that my mouth will not transgress. Psalms 17:3

Why is this important? God commands us to pray, but there are more scriptures telling us to pray for others then ourselves. The best way I have heard it said was this:

“A Christian who prays only for himself is not only self-focused, but he is self-limiting.”
E. M. Bounds wrote, “Prayer must be broad in its scope—it must plead for others. Intercession for others is the hallmark of all true prayer. Prayer is the soul of a man stirred to plead with God for men.”

There is a whole world outside our house that needs someone to stand in the gap for them. Prayer is a privilege and honor. I close with words from Timothy..

“I exhort therefore, that, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men; For kings, and for all that are in authority; that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and honesty. For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior; Who will have all men to be saved, and to come unto the knowledge of the truth.” 1 Timothy 2:1–4


Published by Gairdin Spreagtha

Gairdin Spreagtha (which means Inspired Garden) is a family business. It is our desire to help others to health and wellness. To share what we know about herbs, gardening, and sustainability.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started